Welcome to the world’s youngest Prime Minister – PM Sanna Marin of Finland

al sahawat times sanna marin PM of Finland 2019

PM Sanna Marin of Finland becomes the world’s youngest Prime Minister

PM Sanna Marin of Finland becomes the world’s youngest Prime Minister as world leaders welcome her to the global stage. 

Sanna Marin, aged 34, is now the world’s youngest prime minister as head of a women-led coalition government of Finland.

The transportation minister, now PM in waiting, was picked by her Social Democratic party to take charge after PM Antti Rinne suddenly resigned. She is expected to be sworn in this week.

She will lead a centre-left coalition of five parties all headed by women.

Mr Rinne stepped down after losing a vote of no confidence over his handling of a postal strike.

When she takes office, Miss Marin will be the world’s youngest sitting prime minister. Followed by Oleksiy Honcharuk of Ukraine, 35 and Jacinda Ardern of New Zealand, 39.

“We have a lot of work to do to rebuild trust,” Miss Marin, who won the vote by a narrow margin, told reporters.

She brushed away questions about her age, saying: “I have never thought about my age or gender, I think of the reasons I got into politics and those things for which we have won the trust of the electorate.”

Miss Marin will be the third-ever female prime minister in the North-East-European country. The Social Democrats emerged as the largest party in elections held in April, and so can appoint the prime minister who leads the coalition government.

According to Finnish broadcaster YLE, Sanne Marin was raised by a single mother and was the first person in her family to go to university.

Finland currently holds the Council of the European Union’s rotating presidency. This is not represented by an individual or political party but by an EU state and rotates every 6 months.

The governance of the EU is far from straightforward and MEPs (members of the European Parliament) are not the same as domestic states’ MPs and the political party that represent each state in the EU Parliament are not the same as those that govern the state. The EU is further divided and ruled by:

President of the EU Council: Charles Michel (BELGIUM)

President of the EU Commission: Ursula von der Leyen (GERMANY)

President of the EU Parliament: David Sassoli (ITAY)

President of the Council of the EU: The Government of FINLAND

Since you’re here …

… we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading Al-Sahawat Times than ever but advertising revenues across the global media industry are falling fast. And unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a total paywall. We want to keep our journalism as open as we can. So you can see why we need to ask for your help. Al-Sahawat Times’ independent, investigative journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we believe truly ethical media and an unbias perspective really matters.

“I appreciate there not being a paywall: it is more democratic for the media to be available for all and not a commodity to be purchased by a few. I’m happy to make a contribution so others with less means still have access to information.”

If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps fund it, the future of ethical media and the futures of our staff and their families would be much more secure. For as little as £1, you can support Al-Sahawat Times and it only takes a minute. Thank you.

This story is available on:


Talk to a journalist

Email: NewsDesk@alsahawat.com

Web: alsahawat.com

Follow Al-Sahawat Times

⬆️ Follow on Instagram

⬆️ Follow on Twitter

⬆️ Follow on LinkedIn

⬆️ Follow on Facebook

⬆️ Follow on YouTube

Read it on APPLE NEWS

Read it on FLIPBOARD

About the Author

Amira Bakr
Journalist Since: September 2010 Profession: Investigative Journalist Graduated in: 2008 Based in: London, UK Previous professional experience: New York, Moscow, Dubai, Beirut Languages: English, Arabic, Russian, French